California Minimum Wage Increases for 2022

money and people

If you’re a California employer, ensure you have implemented the following minimum wage increases, effective January 1st, 2022.

State Minimum Wage Updates

Specifically, employers with 25 employees or less are required to make an increase to $14.00 per hour and employers with 26 or more employees are required to make an increase to $15.00 per hour. If you have exempt employees, this increase also affects minimum salary requirements.

Local Minimum Wage Updates (vary based on employee size)

  • Hayward
    • $14.52/hour for employers with 25 or fewer employees
    • $15.56/hour for employers with 26 or more employees
  • Novato
    • $15/hour for employers with 1-25 employees
    • $15.53/hour for employers with 26-99 employees
    • $15.77/hour for employers with 100 or more employees
  • Sonoma
    • $15/hour for employers with 25 or fewer employees
    • $16/hour for employers with 26 or more employees

Local Minimum Wage Updates (for all size employers)

Also effective January 1st, 2022 are the following local minimum wage increases:

  • Belmont: $16.20/hour
  • Burlingame: $15.60/hour
  • Cupertino: $16.40/hour
  • Daly City: $15.53/hour
  • East Palo Alto: $15.60/hour
  • El Cerrito: $16.37/hour
  • Half Moon Bay: $15.56/hour
  • Los Altos: $16.40/hour
  • Menlo Park: $15.75/hour
  • Mountain View: $17.10/hour
  • Oakland: $15.06/hour
  • Palo Alto: $16.45/hour
  • Petaluma: $15.85/hour
  • Redwood City: $16.20/hour
  • Richmond: $15.54/hour
  • San Carlos: $15.77/hour
  • San Diego: $15.00/hour
  • San Jose: $16.20/hour
  • San Mateo $16.20/hour
  • Santa Clara: $16.40/hour
  • Santa Rosa: $15.85/hour
  • South San Francisco: $15.80/hour
  • Sunnyvale $17.10/hour

Keep in mind that the new minimum salary for employees who otherwise qualify to be exempt from overtime is $62,400 annually for employers with at least 26 employees and $58,240 annually for employers with fewer than 26 employees.

If you have not implemented these adjustments, it’s imperative that you do so immediately retroactive to January 1st, 2022. If you have any questions or need assistance, contact us today.

Categories: 
Related Posts
  • When are Employee Disclosures Protected by the California Whistleblower Protection Act? Read More
  • CCPA Employee and B2B Exemptions Expire January 1, 2023, Providing New Privacy Rights to Employees Read More
  • What Do I Do If I Receive a Demand Letter from a Lawyer on Behalf of a Former Employee? Read More
/